Who are you writing for?

Here’s a question for all of you writerly-types. When you pick up your pen, or sit down at your computer to keep working on that troublesome story, what is your goal with it? Who are you writing for? Are you writing for a publication? An editor or agent? A certain age group?

This is something I have to remind myself of. Who am I writing for? Who I am I wanting to bring glory to with my stories and words? Am I writing with the hope of being published prove to someone that I can do it? No.

I’m writing for God.

There is no other I want to write for. But yet I still have to keep telling myself, when I am bogged down with how much improvment my dialogue needs, or that I need to use more showing in that paragraph rather then telling, that I am writing for God. I want to bring Him glory with my words. I ask that God will help me to achieve this. I can’t do it on my own.

Who are you writing for?

Leave a Reply

